Suggestion: Risk more Era-Inaccurate PVP Diversity

Discussion in 'T2A Discussion' started by Ramadeon, Jan 2, 2018.

?

should the pvp be more viable in terms of other possible templates?

1. yes, there should be more pvp playstyles viable (fullmages, dexxers etc.)

1 vote(s)
    33.3%
  2. no, pvp should always be done only with a hally and corp por

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. other (please post your opinion)

2 vote(s)
    66.7%
  1. Ramadeon

Ramadeon Newbie

hello guys,

i am a pvp veteran since 1998 and just joined the game here. happy to see a new t2a oriented shard launched and i wish you guys best luck that the shard will be a success. :) i opened this thread to discuss the topic of pvp template viablity with you, since i think it could compliment this shard heavily if there would be more pvp templates supported.

but lets first start with the history check to be on the same page:
    the pvp of the t2a era - as far as i remember it from the old days - was mainly focused on exciting duels or teamfights between hallymages. the characteristic combination of instahit and the ability to heal through poison made it necessary to work out a hallymage or a macemage to participate in competitive pvp. while that was very challenging and required good timing skills, other pvp templates where de facto nonexistant: dexxers had no special blows and were useless in competetive pvp, puremages couldnt reach the effectiveness of tankmages too since their damage output was not high enough to kill somebody that could easily heal through poison.

in the following era, the pvp was changed drastically to introduce more pvp template viability like parablowing dexmonkeys, stunblowing scribe-puremages and many more. skills became viable and made template options more diverse. since also the instahit was removed, the hallymage-or-OOoooOOo paradigm faded. while the new template options were liked by most players, some players disliked the removal of instahit in this era.